The Florida Primary Seat Belt Law went into effect June 30, 2009. The law is intended to reduce the number of injuries and deaths due to motor vehicle accidents.
Fines after June 30, 2009, are:
- Seat belt fine $93
- Child restraint fine $143
The Florida Child Restraint Requirements are as follows:
Please note: The driver is responsible for buckling up the child.
- Children age three and younger must be secured in a federally approved child-restraint seat.
- Children ages 4-5 must be secured by either a federally approved child restraint seat or safety belt.